OS grid reference:- TA 115 807
Once a fishing village, Filey has a large beach and became a popular tourist resort. The oldest building in the town is the parish church on Church Hill, which is dedicated to St Oswald and dates to the twelfth century. In circa 1830, the now Grade II listed Langford Villa was built and later became the summer residence of the Terry's family, the famous York chocolatiers. Shortly later, in 1835, Birmingham solicitor John Wilkes bought seven acres of land and built the crescent, later to become known as the Royal Crescent, which was opened in the 1850s. In the twentieth century, the Butlins Holiday Camp proved to play a major role in Filey's economy.
Filey Beach offers a 5 mile stretch of clean, award winning golden beaches. The Seafront Sculpture Trail features a series of artworks inspired by Filey's natural heritage, designed by artist Russ Coleman. The seafront has pleasant gardens, and attractions for all the family, such as the paddling pool, and a crazy golf game.
Seals may be sighted on the beach at Filey Brigg, a peninsula at the northern end of the town, which has some fascinating geology and marine life, and is surrounded by hundreds of wrecks which remain a source of intrigue to professional divers. Summer porpoise sightings are regular. The Bird Garden and Animal Park (pictured above) has a mix of exotic animals, birds and wildlife.
Filey stands at the eastern end of the Cleveland Way long-distance footpath which starts at Helmsley and skirts the North York Moors the northern end of the Yorkshire Wolds Way National Trail which starts at Hessle and crosses the Yorkshire Wolds.