OS grid reference:- SE 049 601
The picturesque small village of Appletreewick is situated 12 miles (19 km) to the north-east of Skipton, lying near to the River Wharfe, the village is overlooked by the towering crags of Barden Fell known as Simon's Seat.
The village began to prosper in around 1300 when Bolton Priory acquired the manor there. Prosperous industries included sheep and lead mining. The local fair and market remained important until the coming of the railways in the middle of the nineteenth century .
Characterful stone houses line the village's steep main street. The Tudor-style High Hall at the top of the street was restored by Sir William Craven.
The Great Hall has an 8-light stone mullion window that contains original seventeenth century diamond paned glass.
Sir William was the son of William Craven and Beatrix, daughter of John Hunter. At the age of thirteen or fourteen he was sent up to London by the common carrier and bound apprentice to Robert Hulson, merchant taylor and later rose to become Sheriff and Lord Mayor of London in the early seventeenth century and was known as Appletreewick's 'Dick Whittington'. He founded the grammar school in nearby Burnsall.
William Craven was born in 1548, in a cottage on the village main street, opposite High Hall, one of a pair converted into St. Johns church in 1898. A Chapel-of-Ease, it was a district chapel to the main Church, provided for the people living some distance from St. Wilfrid's in Burnsall. The oak pews were made by Rober Thompson, the Mouseman of Kilburn in 1946 who was famous for including carved mice in all his work.
Lower down the hill stands Monks Hall,a Grade II listed building, largely rebuilt in 1697 on the site of Bolton Priory's grange. The building is reputed to be haunted by a monk from Bolton Priory who, legend states, was walled up in the house.
There are two traditional pubs, the sixteenth century Craven Arms and the New Inn, both of which offer good food and stunning views, and a campsite, Masons, which is situated beside the river Wharfe. The Craven Arms was also once owned by Sir William Craven and has a cruck barn behind the building, with soaring oak trusswork carrying a traditional heather thatched roof.
Percevall Hall Gardens
Parcevall Hall Gardens are situated at Skyreholme near Appletreewick (OS Grid reference- SE 068 612) and are a renowned plantsmans garden at the heart of Wharfedale.
Located at the head of a small valley, the gardens cover 24 acres of formal and woodland gardens and rise up the hillside for 200 feet providing wonderful views of the dale.
The the largest gardens open to the public in the Yorkshire Dales National Park, the gardens were designed and planted by Sir William Milner, one of the founder members of the Harlow Carr Botanical Gardens near Harrogate.
Sir William purchased the estate in 1927, the gardens were created on previously wild moorland terrain and are planted with specimens from around the world, many collected from Western China and the Himalayas.
Troller's Gill- a local ravine said to be the haunt of the "Barquest" or "Barguest" - the spectral hound of Craven, which may have provided the inspiration for Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holme's story "The Hound of the Baskervilles".