OS grid reference:- SD 926 782
Picturesque Hubberholme is situated near to Buckden, at the heart of the Yorkshire Dales National Park in scenic Upper Wharfedale, at the point where Langstrothdale, one of the lesser known dales, meets with Wharfedale at the centre of a triangle formed by Buckden Pike, Pen-y-Ghent and Dodd Fell, all of which rise to over 2,000 feet. The village takes its name from Hubba the Berserker, a fearsome Viking chieftain.
The village inn, The George (pictured right), stands in a stunning location overlooking the infant river Wharfe. At one time it served as the vicarage for the church which stands opposite. The George is now a traditional Dales Inn with flagged floors, stone walls, open fires and mullioned windows.
A lighted candle stands on the bar to indicate the pub is open and serving. The tradition dates from distinctive auctions for agricultural land or grazing that are still held in The George. The last bid to be received before the candle is extinguished is the winner. The pub sells good home cooked foood and offers accommodation.
The village was a favourite place of Bradford born writer and playwright, J.B. Priestley, who described it as the 'smallest, pleasantest place in the world'. The village churchyard is the resting place of his ashes.
Scar House, situated on the hill above Hubberholme is often passed by on the popular triangular walk from Buckden to Cray. The house dates from Victorian times, a previous house which once occupied the site was visited by George Fox in 1652. At the time the house was owned by James Tennant who was later executed in York for religious reasons. The house became the first piece of land owned by the Quakers and contains a Quaker burial ground, although there are no headstones.
Images courtesy of Paul Johnson
St. Michael and All Angels Church
The small and quaint village church of St. Michael and All Angels dates back to the Norman era, although much of the fabric of the building is twelfth century, the original Norman church the tower is still extant.
St. Michael and All Angels is one of the most historic and picturesque of all the churches in Wharfedale and was once a Forest Chapel of the Norman hunting forest of Langstrothdale Chase.
The oak roof was completed in 1558. Of particular note within the church is the rood loft which was fitted in the church in 1558, and was probably situated in Coverham Abbey prior to being moved to Hubberholme. Only two such lofts still survive in Yorkshire, the other being at Flamborough on the east coast.
The oak pews were crafted by Kilburn's Robert Thomson, otherwise known as the "Mouseman of Kilburn", whose trademark mouse can be found in the woodwork.
The church is situated on the site of an old Anglo-Norse burial ground